SL vs IRE: Sri Lanka spin wizard Prabath Jayasuriya scripted history, breaks 71-year-old Test record

Sri Lanka’s Prabath Jayasuriya became the quickest spin bowler in Test history to claim 50 wickets on Friday in Galle, breaking a seven-decade record.

Jayasuriya got to the landmark in his seventh Test match, thereby becoming the joint second-fastest bowler to 50 wickets in the format. England’s Thomas Richardson (1896) and South Africa’s Vernon Philander (2012) got to the feat in seven matches.

Former West Indies spinner Alf Valentine previously held the record before Jayasuriya stamped his authority. He now shares the rank with South Africa pacer Vernon Philander and former England international Tom Richardson.

On the other hand, former Australia international Charlie Turner still holds the record of being the fastest bowler to pick 50 wickets, as he did it in just six matches. Notably, he set this record in 1888, and even after 135 years, no one has managed to break it.

 Name Tests Years
Charlie Turner (AUS) 6 1887-1888
Prabath Jayasuriya (SL) 7 2022-2023
Vernon Philander (SA) 7 2011-2012
Tom Richardson (ENG) 7 1893-1896
Terry Alderman (AUS) 8 1981
Rodney Hogg (AUS) 8 1978-1979
Alf Valentine (WI) 8 1950-1951
Frederick Spofforth (AUS) 8 1877-1883

In the first innings of the opening Test in Galle, Jayasuriya had figures of 23-10-52-7. He picked up three wickets in the second innings to finish with a match haul of 10 wickets. Jayasuriya got five wickets in the first innings of the second Test to again stamp his authority.

join us on


Latest Posts